技术资料
_______

探索多孔聚合物解决方案

Slider

多孔聚合物是许多产品应用背后的未知科学,存在于我们日常生活的方方面面,它为各种产品提供关键功能,如变色标记和诊断测试等。该技术简报系列将帮助您了解多孔聚合物的不同类型和功能,以及它们如何应用于几乎任何行业。

近60年来,Porex一直致力于与客户携手合作,为客户提供工程和设计创新的多孔聚合物解决方案,帮助他们将产品理念变成现实。我们的Porex材料科学专家准备了一系列技术简报,介绍多孔聚合物将如何提高您的产品性能,并助您在行业中实现市场差异化。

无论您是拥有潜在的产品概念,亦或需要解决现有产品问题的设计或制造工程师,该系列技术简报都非常适合您。它将帮助您探索多孔聚合物背后的科学,以及如何为您的应用选择正确的材料。

技术简报资料库


Tech-Brief ViralEfficiency (Tablet)

医疗器械

医疗器械中的病毒过滤效率 (VFE) 测试:防止 HAI 的创新材料组件

根据美国疾病控制与预防中心(CDC)的数据显示,每 31 名住院患者中就有 1 名在医疗保健中被感染 HAI(医疗保健相关感染),仅在美国医院,这些感染就导致每年9.9万人死亡。
由于频繁接触细菌和病毒病原体,医护人员面临着类似的,甚至更大的威胁。在COVID-19大流行期间,这些风险被放大,接受或提供医疗程序的人可能暴露在含有病毒的血液传播和气溶胶颗粒中。为了帮助防范这些威胁并促进一个安全的医疗保健环境,医疗设备制造商必须使用高效的材料,打造一致、可靠的屏障,以防止传染性病毒颗粒的传播。在本技术简报中,了解新的病毒过滤效率 (VFE)测试措施如何验证材料性能,以及多孔聚合物技术如何为关键医疗器械设计提供解决方案。


Crankcase ventilation (CCV) systems

汽车 & 航空

封闭曲轴箱通风CCV系统: 您的材料是否限制了您产品的安全性和可持续性性能?

通过减少汽车排放来降低全球污染水平,汽车行业正面临着更严格的法规要求。事实上,新的排放性能标准要求中国和欧盟的汽车制造商使用更先进的过滤和排气系统,以减少使用柴油、CNG、LGN和氢发动机汽车的碳足迹。

在该技术简报中,您将了解用于封闭曲轴箱通风(CCV)系统过滤的高性能多孔聚合物介质,及其如何帮助管理关键流体和气体,最终提高车辆性能、驾驶员安全性和可持续性指标,进而提高制造商品牌声誉。


家用产品

您目前的芯棒技术对您的驱蚊产品是否有帮助?

空气护理装置(如电驱蚊器、蚊虫引诱器)的配方传递会受到芯棒材料的影响,芯棒的设计是为了将配方扩散到空气中。不良的设计和材料选择容易引起产品故障,从而造成额外的资源浪费和额外的更换成本。

在本技术简报中,您将了解蚊虫引诱器、电热驱蚊器产品如何利用多孔聚合物制成的芯棒提供更强大的功能,从而控制和持续实现更好的释放速率,并提供更安全、更可持续和更具成本效益的解决方案。


Pregnancy Test

体外诊断

检测结果至关重要:采用多孔吸芯技术提高验孕棒测试的准确性

对于备孕的父母来说,他们期望家用验孕棒能够提供快速准确的测试结果,实际上他们对妊娠测试准确率的期望高达99%。然而,如果验孕产品配备了低于标准的吸水棒组件,则需要对其可靠性进行测试。如果不能正确地吸收和传递样本到反应区,就会产生错误的读数,从而给准妈妈和她的伴侣带来不必要的压力和痛苦。

通过该技术简报,您将了解具有精确毛细管结构的多孔聚合物介质如何能够快速吸收和输送样本,同时提供更准确的检测结果。


Ceramic Wicks

家用产品

您目前的香水棒芯吸技术对您的香薰产品是否有帮助?

空气护理装置(如气味消除器、空气清新器、扩香机、香薰机或电热香薰器)的香味传递会受到吸香棒材料的影响,吸香棒的设计是为了将液体扩散到空气中。不良的设计和材料选择容易引起产品故障,从而造成额外的资源浪费和额外的更换成本。

在本技术简报中,您将了解空气清新器、香薰机如何利用多孔聚合物制成的香水棒提供更强大的功能,从而控制和持续实现更好的释放速率,并提供更安全、更可持续和更具成本效益的解决方案。


电子产品

如何超声焊接聚四氟乙烯PTFE防水防尘透气膜

医疗保健、消费品和汽车等行业的电子设备需要防水防尘透气膜来保护内部的电子设备。然而,许多透气膜所使用的膨体聚四氟乙烯(ePTFE)材料比较纤弱,无法满足自动化装配过程中的严苛要求,比如能够为制造商节省时间和金钱的超声波焊接装配方式。 

在本技术简介中,您将了解由烧结聚四氟乙烯(PTFE)制成的防水防尘透气膜,作为更优秀的选择,它可以承受任何自动化装配过程,包括超声波焊接,从而使制造过程更高效。 


Tech Brief Gas Absortive

电子产品

有害醋酸铅过滤器解决方案

电化学气体传感器的寿命及其检测问题气体的能力,可能受到环境中存在的干扰气体(如H2S, SO2, HDMS和挥发性有机化合物)的负面影响。气体吸收过滤器作为传感器的干扰气体和目标气体之间的屏障,帮助目标气体到达电极并被识别。

通过这份技术资料,您将了解多孔聚合物如何替代醋酸铅用于吸收过滤器,从而使其对环境和工作人员更安全,并提高传感器的性能和延长使用寿命。


Eliminating Hazardous Glass Wool from Sensor Electrolyte Reservoirs

电子产品

消除传感器电解质储液芯中的危险玻璃棉

传统气体传感器中的电解质储液芯往往采用玻璃棉制造。然而,近年来的研究表明,玻璃棉会对制造工人的健康产生负面影响。此外,由于玻璃棉大多采用人工装配,这可能导致最终传感器的效率低下和不一致。 

通过这份技术资料,您不仅可以了解如何从传感器装配中完全去除玻璃棉,同时学习如何提高储液芯装配过程的效率和一致性。

Tech Briefs:
_______

Finding solutions with porous polymers

Slider

Porous polymers are the unknown science behind many of the products we use every day, providing key functionalities to products as diverse as coloring markers and diagnostic tests. In this Tech Brief series, learn about the different types and functions of porous polymers and how they can be applied in just about any industry.

For almost 60 years, Porex has been partnering with our customers to deliver engineering and design innovations in porous polymers that turn their product ideas into reality. Our Porex material science experts prepared this Technical Brief series on how porous polymers can improve your product’s performance and drive market differentiation in your industry.

Perfect for design and manufacturing engineers who either have a potential product concept or need to fix a problem with an existing product, significantly contributed to this Tech Brief series to explores the science behind porous polymers and how to select the right type of material for your application.

Library of Tech Briefs


Tech-Brief ViralEfficiency (Tablet)

MEDICAL DEVICES

Viral filtration efficiency (VFE) testing in medical devices: Innovative material components that protect against HAIs

Nearly one in 31 hospital patients acquires a healthcare-associated infection (HAI)—and these infections lead to an estimated 99,000 annual deaths in American hospitals alone, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
Healthcare workers face similar—if not greater—threats due to frequent exposure to bacterial and viral pathogens. These risks have been magnified during the COVID-19 pandemic, in which those receiving or providing healthcare procedures are potentially exposed to blood-borne and aerosolized particles containing the virus. To help protect against these threats and promote a safe healthcare environment, it is imperative for medical device manufacturers to utilize high-efficiency materials that serve as consistent, reliable barriers against infectious viral particle spread. In this tech brief, learn how new viral filtration efficiency (VFE) testing measures verify material performance and the ways porous polymer technologies can offer a solution in critical device design.


Crankcase ventilation (CCV) systems

AUTOMOTIVE & AEROSPACE

Crankcase ventilation (CCV) systems: Are your materials limiting your safety and sustainability performance?

The automotive industry is facing stricter regulations to clean up global pollution levels by reducing vehicle emissions. In fact, new emission performance standards are requiring auto manufacturers in China and the EU to use more advanced filtering and venting systems for particulate matters and for trapping exhaust gases to minimize the carbon footprint of vehicles using diesel, CNG, LGN and hydrogen engines.

In this tech brief you will learn how high-performing porous polymer media used in closed crankcase ventilation (CCV) system filtration can help manage critical fluids and gases, ultimately enhancing vehicle performance, driver safety and sustainability metrics—and as a result, manufacturer reputation.


AIR CARE

Is your wicking technology hurting or helping your insecticide product design?

The fragrance delivery of an air care device such as an insecticide or pest control device can be impacted by the material of the wick, which is designed to disseminate liquid into the air. Poor design and material choice can result in product malfunction that contributes to additional resource waste and extra replacement costs.

In this tech brief, discover how pest control products utilizing wicks made from porous polymers offer greater functionality that enable better emanation rates for a controlled and consistent delivery of insecticide as well as provide a safer, more sustainable and cost-effective solution.


Tech-Brief Sterlization Tablet

MEDICAL DEVICES

Surgical and medical device sterilization: Achieving safety and sustainability through material innovation

In this Tech Brief, engineers working on sterilization devices can learn how the materials used to vent and filter within the sterilization container have a critical impact on the performance and reliability of the container. Disposable filters that are found in many sterilization containers can be easily damaged or inserted incorrectly, which jeopardizes equipment sterility and increases infection risks.

Learn more about the innovative and reusable medical-grade materials that can be designed into sterilization containers, and the science behind how they achieve this increased performance


Pregnancy Test

IN-VITRO DIAGNOSTICS

When results matter: Increase pregnancy test accuracy with porous wicking technology

For expecting parents, home pregnancy tests are counted on to deliver fast and accurate results, up to 99 percent in fact. However, its reliability can be put to the test if the device is equipped with a subpar wicking component. Failure to properly absorb and deliver samples to a reaction zone can render an incorrect reading that can create unwanted stress and anguish for a new mom and her partner.

In this tech brief, learn how porous polymer media with precise capillary structures and chemistries can be optimized to transfer and deliver samples quickly while providing more accurate results.


TMitigating Common Issues with Liquid Cosmetic Formula Delivery

PERSONAL CARE & BEAUTY

Mitigating common issues with liquid cosmetic formula delivery

Cosmetic applicators are an integral part of the skin care and makeup market, and both consumers and professionals alike rely on their cosmetics products to provide a high-quality, consistent performance with flawless makeup delivery. What most don’t realize is how well a cosmetics product delivers formula is dependent on the applicator and reservoir design, and there are clear indications when the formula and the design are not compatible.

In this tech brief, discover how applicators and reservoirs made from porous polymer materials allow for easier application and better formula delivery, providing a reliable product that is also sustainable and contributes to a desired look.


Ceramic Wicks

AIR CARE

Is your wicking technology hurting or helping your air freshener product design?

The fragrance delivery of an air care device such as an odor eliminator or air freshener can be impacted by the material of the wick, which is designed to disseminate liquid into the air. Poor design and material choice can result in product malfunction that contributes to additional resource waste and extra replacement costs.

In this tech brief, discover how air care products utilizing wicks made from porous polymers offer greater functionality that enable better emanation rates for a controlled and consistent delivery as well as provide a safer, more sustainable and cost-effective solution.


ELECTRONICS

How to ultrasonically weld PTFE protection vents

Electronic devices across industries such as healthcare, consumer goods, and automotive need protection vents to protect the electronics inside; however, the expanded PTFE (ePTFE) material that many vents are constructed of is delicate and can’t handle the rigors of automated assembly processes such as ultrasonic welding that would save manufacturers time and money. 

In this tech brief, learn about protection vents made from sintered PTFE, the stronger option that can withstand any automated assembly process to make the manufacturing process more efficient. 


Tech Brief Gas Absortive

SENSORS

Overcoming challenges with harmful lead acetate filters

The lifespan of an electrochemical gas sensor and its ability to detect problematic gases can be negatively impacted by an environment where interfering gases – such as H2S, SO2, HDMS and volatile organic compounds – are present.  Gas absorption filters act as a gatekeeper between the interfering gases and the target gases of the sensor, enabling the target gas to reach the electrode and be identified.

In this tech brief, learn how porous polymers can be used in absorption filters instead of lead acetate to make them safer for the environment and workers – and to enhance the sensor’s performance and lifespan.


Eliminating Hazardous Glass Wool from Sensor Electrolyte Reservoirs

SENSORS

Eliminating hazardous glass wool from sensor electrolyte reservoirs

Electrolyte reservoirs in electrochemical gas sensors have traditionally been manufactured with glass wool; however, in recent years, research has shown that glass wool can be hazardous to the health of the manufacturing workers in charge of assembling the sensors.  In addition, the glass wool assembly process is highly manual, leading to inefficiency and inconsistency in the final sensor. 

In this tech brief, learn how not only to remove glass wool from your sensor assembly entirely but also to increase the efficiency and consistency of the reservoir assembly process.